Advisory Board

The Advisory Board meets five or six times during each academic year. Its purpose is to advise the Director on major questions of orientation and vision for the Jackman Humanities Institute, including policies, programs, and general oversight on all activities. The Advisory Board connects the Jackman Humanities Institute with the humanities departments and their faculty and students across the University of Toronto.  This committee is composed of senior faculty members and department chairs from the humanities disciplines, representatives from the University of Toronto Mississauga (UTM), the University of Toronto Scarborough (UTSC), the Faculty of Arts & Science, and other faculties. Members are usually appointed for three-year terms.

  • Alison Keith, Director, Jackman Humanities Institute
  • Joshua Barker, Vice-Provost, Graduate Research & Education and Dean, School of Graduate Studies
  • Clare Brett, Chair, OISE Department of Curriculum, Teaching and Learning
  • Fiorella Foscarini, Faculty of Information
  • Edward Jones-Imhotep, Director, A&S Institute for the History and Philosophy of Science and Technology
  • Anna Korteweg, UTM Department of Sociology
  • Ann MacDonald, Curator, Doris McCarthy Gallery at UTSC
  • Loryl MacDonald, Associate Chief Librarian for Special Collections and Director, Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library
  • Gurpreet Rattan, Chair, UTM Department of Philosophy
  • Kerry Rittich, Faculty of Law and A&S Women & Gender Studies Institute
  • Anna Shternshis, Director, Anne Tanenbaum Centre for Jewish Studies
  • Alison K. Smith, Chair, A&S Department of History
  • Stefan Soldovieri, Chair, A&S Department of Germanic Languages & Literatures
  • Alexie Tcheuyap, Vice-Dean Faculty, A&S Academic Life and Equity
  • Steven Vand Moortele, Associate Dean of Research, Faculty of Music
  • Jane Woolf, John M. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape and Design