2024-25 Distinguished Visiting Indigenous Faculty Fellow

January 19, 2024 by Sonja Johnston

Ci aaniko wiitamaakeyak kaa kiitaawew kaye kihkentamaawin awenenowiyak

Ci aaniko wiitamaakeyak kaa kiitaawew kaye kihkentamaawin awenenowiyak
Sharing with others, wisdom and knowledge, about who we are

The JHI is excited to announce our 2024-25 Distinguished Visiting Indigenous Faculty FellowAroha Harris. Aroha will be a member of the Circle of Fellows during our Undergrounds/Underworlds theme year.

Aroha Harris is an associate professor in History at the University of Auckland. Her research reflects her interest in Māori histories of the twentieth century, with a focus on Māori-state relations. Aroha is a founding member of Te Pouhere Korero, the national collective of Māori historians, and has been an editor of their journal of the same name. She is also a former member of the Waitangi Tribunal where she was the historian member of the panel convened for Te Rohe Pōtae inquiry (Wai 898). Aroha has variously published in academic journals and edited collections, including anthologies of short fiction and poetry. Her first book, Hikoi: Forty Years of Maori Protest, was published in 2004. Her second book, Tangata Whenua: An Illustrated History (2014), was a collaborative effort with Emeritus Professor Atholl Anderson and the late Dame Judith Binney. She is Māori and belongs to Te Rarawa and Ngāpuhi iwi (tribes).

About this Fellowship

The Distinguished Visiting Indigenous Faculty Fellowship was inaugurated in 2016-2017, with the intention to bring a senior Indigenous scholar into the Circle of Fellows to do research relevant to the year’s theme. The name of this fellowship is transliterated above in Cree syllabics. Professor Harris' predecessors include Sherry Farrell Racette, Tracey Lindberg, Alex Wilson, Heidi Stark, Max Liboiron, Dale Turner and Glen Coulthard.